What Do I Need to Register a Travel Trailer in Florida

Last Updated on September 20, 2022 by Douglas

You need to register your trailer in Florida when it is in the state for six months.

The registration process can be done by mail or at the DMV office. The cost of registration varies based on whether you are registering your trailer as a new vehicle or as a used vehicle.

Do you need insurance to register a travel trailer in Florida?

Let us address some common questions that people have about their trailers and insurance coverage. Does Florida law require that I insure my trailer? No. Florida law does not require that you purchase separate insurance to cover your trailer.[1]

Do you need a title for a camper in Florida?

A certificate of title in electronic or paper form is the proof of ownership of a vehicle, mobile home or vessel in the state of Florida. Most vehicles, mobile homes or vessels are required to be titled, with the exception of mopeds, motorized bicycles, and trailers weighing less than 2,000 pounds.[2]

How much is a travel trailer tag in Florida?

Add $225.00 Initial Registration Fee when applicable.[3]

Can I register my trailer online in Florida?

An owner must present the previous registration or renewal notice, if they have one, to renew a trailer’s registration. Owners can process their registration and plate renewal online, by mail or at a county tax collector’s service center or tag agency.[4]

Do I need a tag for my trailer in Florida?

Any trailer that weighs less than 2,000 pounds is not required to be titled; it is only registered. Trailers that weigh 2,000 pounds or more must be titled and registered, and additional documentation is required.[5]

Do you have to pay sales tax on a trailer in Florida?

What is Taxable? Six (6) percent sales tax must be paid on all recreational vehicles (RVs) sold and/or delivered in Florida, unless specifically exempted by law. Many counties also impose a local discretionary sales surtax, which applies to the first $5,000 of the sales price.[6]

How do I register an out of state camper in Florida?

To register an out-of-state RV in Florida, you must obtain insurance from a Florida insurance agency, verify your vehicle identification number and submit the appropriate registration forms to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office near you.[7]

Can a non resident register RV in Florida?

Residency. Florida does not require proof of residency to register a vehicle.[8]

Do both parties need to be present to transfer a title in FL?

If the title is held electronically, the seller and buyer must visit a motor vehicle service center to complete a secure title reassignment (HSMV 82994 or 82092) and disclose the odometer reading. The buyer and seller must both be present and provide photo identification.[9]

How do I transfer an RV title in Florida?

A completed vehicle title provided by the seller. An Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration (Form 82040). A notarized bill of sale (if required). Lien release (if required). Payment for all applicable fees.[10]

What is needed to register an out of state vehicle in Florida?

Proof of identity (required for all owners). Proof of Florida insurance. Original out-of-state title. When applying for title, ALL owners are required to sign a completed Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (HSMV form 82040).[11]

How much is tax title and registration in Florida?

Title Fee: $75.75. Registration Fee: $1.60-$91.20. Plate Transfer Fee: $7.85.[12]

Leave a Comment